Gluten-free Breads

I have found that ready-made gluten-free breads are ok, but not great. They usually come frozen and don’t last very long unless you keep them in the refrigerator – I can never use up a whole loaf before it goes bad if I leave it out. They tend to be either soggy or too dry and crumbly. I usually toast them, mostly because they are cold from being in the refrigerator, but also because it keeps them from falling apart as much when used for a sandwich. Canyon Bake House 7-Grain bread is my favorite right now. It has a good texture and flavor. Rudi’s Multigrain comes in second, but it is sometimes a little bit dry. (Both of these breads contain sorghum) If I can’t find either of those I get the Food for Life Rice Pecan bread. It was the first GF bread I tried that was tolerable, but it is very dense and is definitely better toasted. I don’t really care for any of the gluten-free white breads I have tried.

I never baked a yeast bread, so I decided to try one of the gluten-free bread mixes to start me off and see if it would be very difficult. Pamala’s Bread Mix has sorghum listed as the first ingredient, so I thought it would be a good choice.

I used the directions under the “Oven Baking” heading because I don’t have a bread maker. It says to use a “heavy duty stand mixer”. Hmmm. I don’t have one of those either. So I used my handheld mixer with regular beaters. I used Canola for the oil and 2 eggs rather than egg whites. The dough was sticky and stiff – not kneadable like wheat bread dough would be. I decided to add sunflower seeds for the added nutritional value and because I like bread with texture.

gluten-free load of bread in pan

The top was just starting to burn a bit.

It had to sit for an hour to rise and then bake for 60-70 minutes, which turned out to be a tad too long – it was starting to burn on top. I thought I had probably ruined it.

Whole loaf of gluten-free bread out of pan.

I was glad the rest wasn’t burnt when I took it out of the pan.

I let it cool for a few minutes and took it out of the loaf pan. It was actually very pretty and not burned on the bottom (yay!) I sliced off a few slices with a serrated knife and was surprised to find it very soft in the middle.

Gluten-free bread sliced

I was amazed that it was so soft inside.

It was soooo good, although a little crunchy on top – Milo got to try some of the crunchy bits.

Slices of gluten-free bread after two days in the refrigerator

After two days it was still tasty as toast.

I put what was left in the refrigerator and sliced off some more for toast the next day. The texture had become denser after sitting in the cold, but it was still very good. I toasted it for a sandwich the day after that and it did very well – it was a little crumbly but not any worse than the frozen ready-made breads, and the flavor was much better.

It took about 2.5 hours from beginning to end to make this bread, but it wasn’t difficult at all. I’m definitely going to cook this bread again and will try some more variations. I would call this experiment a success!

Milo graphic

Milo says….

Crunchy bits are GOOD! I’ll have some more, please.

7 thoughts on “Gluten-free Breads

  1. I’m not a bread baker either, but I love a good slice of bread with butter. Thanks for this tip. Where did you find this mix? I’ve been trying to find gluten-free stuff that’s easy to make (mixes, micro-wave items etc), but many food items require “real” cooking. I’m a speed cook. If it isn’t fast, I’m in trouble.

    • You should be able to find this mix at most health food stores that carry gluten-free products. You might be able to find a local distributor through their website – I put a link to it on their name. Good luck with your baking!

  2. I am also having a hard time finding grocery store gluten free bread that will stay fresh for a few days without being refrigerated. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

  3. My friend Lucy sent this comment via email and said I could share it. Good feedback – thanks!
    “On the fact that your bread was as you said “burning on top”, place some aluminum foil on top while it finishes baking so that it doesn’t over brown. Then enjoy the perfect topped bread. I have done many a loaf for my son. I have even baked in a large can the size of a hamburger bun (hominy can).”

  4. I cannot bake GF-DF bread for the life of me. I can make gluten bread no problem. I just buy Udi’s Multi-grain bread. It has whole grains, and pretty healthy. I do make some killer muffins though. Have you ever check out Gluten Free Goddess on blogspot? Her blog is a lifesaver! Thanks for checking out my blog. I love sorghum too!

Leave a Reply

