Close up of maple walnut squares on plate.

Maple Walnut Squares with Sorghum – Yum!

Last week I found some real maple syrup on sale at my local health food store, so I decided to give these squares a try. I got the recipe from Laurie Sadowski over at Whisking & Writing. I changed her recipe from pecans to walnuts because I had those already. I also used real butter and regular sugar. Everything else I kept the same and they turned out great. I will definitely be saving this recipe for holiday baking!

Makes 25 squares

Bottom Layer
1/2 cup sorghum flour
1/4 cup quinoa flour
1/4 cup tapioca flour
1/4 cup unrefined cane sugar (I used regular cane sugar)
3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/8 teaspoon fine sea or Himalayan salt
6 tablespoons nondairy buttery spread, such as Earth Balance (or EB Coconut Spread – I used butter)

Top Layer
2 tablespoons nondairy buttery spread
1/4 cup pure maple syrup (recommend: amber or dark)
1/4 cup unrefined cane sugar
1 tablespoon nondairy milk (I used almond milk)
1 cup walnuts, chopped (Her recipe has pecans)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon fine sea salt

Position an oven rack to the middle of the oven. Line an 9-inch square baking pan with parchment paper, letting the ends hang over the edges for easy removal. (I actually just sprayed the pan and didn’t use parchment because I didn’t have any.) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

To make the bottom layer, put the sorghum flour, quinoa flour, tapioca flour, sugar, salt, and xanthan gum in a medium bowl. Cut in the nondairy buttery spread using a pastry cutter or two knives, until the mixture sticks together when you squeeze it in your hand. Press the mixture into the prepared pan in an even layer. Bake on the middle rack for 20 minutes. Let cool slightly while preparing the topping.

Bottom layer of squares in pan after baking.

Bottom layer after baking.

To make the topping, put the nondairy buttery spread in a small saucepan over medium heat. Cook until melted, then add the maple syrup, sugar, and nondairy milk. Once it starts to bubble, let it cook for 1 minute. Remove from heat. Stir in the pecans, vanilla extract, and salt. Pour the mixture over the crust. Return to the oven and bake for about 18 minutes, until the topping is bubbling and thick. (This smells amazing while it’s cooking!) Let cool completely before removing from the pan. Cut into squares. These freeze very well.

Maple Walnut Squares in pan fresh out of oven and bubbly

Fresh out of the oven and bubbly!

Maple walunt squares sliced up and placed on plate.

Finished and ready to eat!

Milo graphic

Milo says….

I brought this thing in the house today that smelled SOOOO good, but Maizy said “eewww!” and took it away from me with a paper towel. And THEN, she threw it over the back fence so I couldn’t even get it again. NOT FAIR! Maybe she will give me a cookie later when she calms down.

One thought on “Maple Walnut Squares with Sorghum – Yum!

Leave a Reply

