Close up of two pumpkin muffins on plate.

Pumpkin Muffins

I had a can of pumpkin in my cabinet so I decided to try making some pumpkin muffins with sorghum flour. I couldn’t find a recipe that I liked, so I took the Banana Bread recipe from Carol Fenster’s “Gluten-Free Quick and Easy” cookbook and used pumpkin instead of bananas. I also added some ginger and nutmeg. They turned out perfect! I’m beginning to really like messing with other people’s recipes. Is that bad?

This recipe uses Carol’s Muffin and Quick Bread Mix, which I couldn’t find on her website (so I had to type it all!) The recipe for it below makes enough for about four recipes, so you can store it away to have on hand for quick muffin making. I’m repeating the recipe for Carol’s Flour Blend below, so you don’t have to go look for it.

Carol’s Flour Blend (double this to make enough for the muffin mix below)

  • 1 ½ cups sorghum flour
  • 1 ½ cups potato starch or cornstarch
  • 1 cup tapioca flour

Carol’s Muffin and Quick Bread Mix

  • 8 cups Carol’s Flour Blend
  • 3 cups cane sugar
  • 8 teaspoons baking powder
  • 6 teaspoons xanthan gum
  • 4 teaspoons table salt

Sift everything together several times for best results. Store, tightly covered, up to 3 months on the pantry shelf or up to 6 months in the refrigerator.

Pumpkin Muffins

  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 can of pureed pumpkin (about 1 cup-ish)
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1 tablespoon molasses
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 ½ cups Carol’s Muffin and Quick Bread Mix (above)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ginger
  • ½ teaspoon nutmeg
  • ¼ cup chopped walnuts or other nuts you desire

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease muffin tin or use paper liners.

In a medium-sized mixing bowl, beat the eggs, pumpkin, oil, molasses, and vanilla with an electric mixer on medium speed until smooth. Mix dry ingredients together and add to the wet ingredients. Mix until batter is thoroughly blended and slightly thickened. Stir in walnuts. Fill each muffin cup to about ¾ full with batter.

Pumpkin muffin batter in the bowl.

Pumpkin batter in bowl.

 

Bake 30 minutes or until tops are firm and starting to brown. Makes about 16 medium-sized muffins. I was going to try freezing some of these, but we ate them all. Maybe next time.

Gluten-free Pumpkin Muffins in pan fresh out of the oven.

Gluten-free Pumpkin Muffins fresh out of the oven.

 

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

My rawhide bone is SO good I chewed it until it was all GONE. Maybe it’s not ALL gone. There might still be SOME in the couch. I’m going to go look right now!

 

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Muffins

  1. I love anything with pumpkin. As a non-Celiac person, I approached with caution when I heard they were made with sorghum flour even though they looked scrumptious. Much to my surprise, these Pumpkin Muffins were moist and yummy. Thumbs up for this recipe!

Leave a Reply

