Gluten-free peach cobbler in a bowl with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top.

Gluten-Free Peach Cobbler

The other day I was talking with a co-worker about eating my mom’s homemade peach cobbler when I was a kid. I hadn’t had peach cobbler in many years and started thinking about whether I could make it gluten-free. I looked in the gluten-free cookbook I have at home, Carol Fenster’s Gluten-Free Quick & Easy and found the recipe below.

Photo of canned peaches used in the cobbler.

These are the peaches I put in the cobbler.

I would have preferred to use fresh peaches, but they aren’t in season right now, so I used canned peaches. I used two large cans and I think it was a little too much. The cobbler turned out pretty good, but I have to say it didn’t really taste like “mom’s” cobbler. The dough just sits on top of the peaches and doesn’t spread out, so there were little balls of cooked dough scattered across the top of a LOT of peaches.

Peaches in cassarole dish, ready to add dough.

Peaches mixed with sugar and cinnamon, ready to put in dough.

Fruit Filling

  • 3 cups of fruit, drained if you use canned
  • 1/4 cup can sugar (can use less or more depending on the sweetness of the fruit you use)
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon table salt

Biscuit Topping

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter or butter spread, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup Carol’s Flour Blend with sorghum (see my recipe from last week)
  • 1/3 cup cane sugar
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1/8 teaspoon table salt
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease a 9-inch square or round nonstick baking pan. (I used a glass casserole dish.)
  2. In a large bowl, toss the fruit with the sugar, lemon zest, cinnamon and salt until combined; spread in the prepared pan.
  3. In a food processor, combine the butter, flour blend, sugar, lemon zest, baking power, xanthan gum and salt by pulsing a few times. Add the egg and vanilla, and process until the dough is fully blended.
  4. Drop the topping mixture onto the fruit by tablespoonfuls; do not spread it out. Bake 35 to 45 minutes, until just starting to brown. Serve warm with whipped cream or ice cream.
Cooked gluten-free peach cobbler fresh out of oven.

Cooked cobbler fresh out of oven.

I think I’m going to continue looking for a recipe that will taste more like my childhood memory – but this one isn’t bad, if you’re looking a way to use some extra fruit you might have. If you use two large cans of fruit, I would recommend doubling the biscuit topping.

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

Maizy played with that thing called a vacuum cleaner today. It is VERY loud and makes me bark a LOT! I can’t figure out if it is something to play with or if I should run away. I wish Maizy didn’t have to play with that thing!

 

6 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Peach Cobbler

  1. Yum! Check out Gluten Free Goddess on blogspot and her peach cobbler recipe. My Lord is it good. I was like you, when I made my lifestyle change I thought I would never have cobbler again. And us Southerners love our peach cobbler.

Leave a Reply

