Sorghum Carrot Quinoa Bars on plate

Sorghum Carrot Quinoa Bars

I was reading an article the other day about using pureed avocado to replace the fat in gluten-free baked goods. It’s supposed to help the batter retain moisture and stick together better. I decided to give it a try with this recipe. I replaced part of the coconut oil with avocado. You can’t taste it at all and they turned out really moist and not crumbly. I used about 2/3 of a large avocado, but I think I could have used the whole thing.

These bars are great for breakfast! I didn’t put frosting on them, but there is a link below to Karina’s cream cheese icing if you want to frost them. (Karina’s photos are always so lovely!) I also added a handful of coconut because I had some and it sounded good to me.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sorghum flour
  • 1 cup quinoa flakes
  • 1/2 cup potato starch or tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 3/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 cup pureed avocado
  • 3 free-range organic eggs, beaten or Ener-G Egg Replacer
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice

Stir-ins:

  • 1 cup grated carrots
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts (or raisins)

I added about 1/3 cup of coconut with the walnuts and left out the raisins.

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350º F. Line a 9×12-inch baking pan with parchment. (I never use parchment. I just spray the baking dish with non-stick olive oil spray.) In a mixing bowl, whisk together the flours and dry ingredients. Add in the melted coconut oil, avocado, eggs or egg replacer, maple syrup, vanilla and lemon juice. Beat until the batter is smooth and sticky. Stir in the grated carrots and chopped walnuts. (I added coconut, too.)

Sorghum carrot quinoa batter in a brown bowl with spoon sticking out.

The batter is thick enough to hold up a spoon.

Spread the batter evenly in the baking pan. Bake in the center of the oven for about 22 minutes until firm to the touch.

Sorghum Carrot Quinoa Bars - Fresh Out of Oven in glass baking dish

Fresh out of the oven.

Cool on a wire rack. Frost with vegan cream cheese icing- find Karina’s Maple Cream Cheese Icing recipe here. Chill frosted bars before wrapping, to set the icing. These freeze beautifully. Remove wrap before defrosting to keep the icing from sticking. Makes 24 small bars.

Recipe Source: Karina Allrich, glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

The wind blew my Frisbee over the fence, but Maizy went and got it. I would like to BITE the wind and I think Maizy would, too!

 

One thought on “Sorghum Carrot Quinoa Bars

Leave a Reply

