Front of Hodgson Mill Gluten-free Bread Mix box

Product Review – Hodgson Mill Gluten-Free Bread Mix

I found this Hodgson Mill gluten-free bread mix at the store the other day and noticed that sorghum flour is in the ingredients, so I decided to give it a try. I haven’t tried any of their other mixes, but they seem to like using sorghum flour. I wasn’t sure how the garbanzo bean flour would taste as the primary flour. I haven’t had good luck using it in my recipes from scratch.

Side of Hodgson Mill bread mix box showing ingredients.

Sorghum flour is the third ingredient.

 

The dough was very thick, but I was still able to mix it with a hand mixer. It wanted to crawl up the beaters, so I had to turn the bowl a little bit sideways and move the mixer carefully around the edges, not dipping too deeply into the dough.

 

Dough in the pan ready to cover and put aside to rise.

Dough in pan before rising.

 

It had to rise for 30 minutes, then cook for one hour. It sure did smell good while it was cooking! The loaf came out with a nice brown crust.

Baked loaf of gluten-free bread on a plate.

The loaf was pretty and brown when it came out of the pan.

 

It sliced pretty easily with a bread knife without crumbling, but I discovered the middle had cracked leaving a hole in each slice. I’m not sure if I cooked it too long or if this mix is just prone to doing that.

Slice of gluten-free bread on a plate, with a hole in the middle of the slice.

Every slice was broken like this, except the crust ends.

 

The bread tasted great, even though it wasn’t useful for making a sandwich. I had it with a bowl of beans and it was good sopping up the juice with it. It has some cane sugar in it, so it has a slightly sweet flavor.

Loaf of gluten-free bread with a few slices on a plate.

The loaf sliced pretty well without crumbling.

 

Even though it tasted good, I would not recommend this mix for a sandwich bread because of the cracking in the middle. It would be a good bread to have with soups, stews and beans, though. I think it would be fun to experiment with using it for dinner rolls. I also might try it with some nuts, seeds or dried fruit added.

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

The wind came back today and it was really ANGRY! It made a weird noise around the door when it blew hard and I was SCARED. The sky was brown and there were no good smells outside – only dirt smell. I’m ready for this wind to go home!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Product Review – Hodgson Mill Gluten-Free Bread Mix

Leave a Reply

