Half of a gluten-free pizza with regular cheese on pan, lots of toppings.

Gluten-free Pizza Crust

I have to confess pizza isn’t my favorite food. I worked at a pizza restaurant when I was in college and I think I got my fill of it back then. After I was diagnosed with celiac disease, I didn’t eat pizza for a long time and didn’t really miss it. I’ve tried a few of the gluten-free frozen pizza’s and they aren’t bad, but just aren’t the same as a fresh pizza.

So, last weekend I made two pizzas using this recipe for the pizza crust. The recipe is from Carol Fenster’s website. I made two of them because I wanted to try one using Daiya dairy-free cheese, since I’m trying to avoid dairy.

The crust turned out ok, although I patted it out a bit too thin. I took it out of the oven after 15 minutes and it was perfect on the edges but still doughy in the middle, so I put it back in for another 5 minutes. Then the edge was a little too crispy. If I ever make this again I will make the crust a little thicker and cook it about 12-15 minutes, instead of 10 minutes, before putting the toppings on.

The non-diary cheese wasn’t very good. I used a little cheddar on the bottom and some mozzarella on the top. The cheddar melted too much – very runny – and tasted like Velvetta (which I don’t like at all.) The mozzarella hardly melted at all and had very little taste. It just wasn’t what I thought of as “Pizza.”

For the other toppings, I used gluten-free sausage, onions, mushrooms, and black olives. I used a can of drained and chopped stewed tomatoes instead of pizza sauce. The pizza with the regular cheese was very good, although the crust was a tad thin for the amount of toppings I put on it. I’ve decided if I have to have pizza, I’ll just use regular cheese and deal with the consequences. For me, pizza is about the cheese.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup warm milk (110°) or non-dairy liquid
  • 1 tablespoon active dry yeast
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/2 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/2 cup tapioca flour
  • 2 teaspoons xanthan gum
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon Italian herb seasoning (I used oregano, basil and a little garlic powder)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons cider vinegar
  • Rice flour for sprinkling
  • Shortening for greasing pan (I used olive oil cooking spray)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 425°F. In small bowl, dissolve yeast and sugar in milk. In medium bowl, beat flours, xanthan gum, salt, and seasoning on low speed. Add yeast-mixture, oil, and vinegar and beat until blended, about 30 seconds. Dough will be soft.

Pizza dough in bowl.

I made a double batch of dough for two pizzas.

Put dough on lightly greased 12-inch nonstick pizza pan and liberally sprinkle with white rice flour to prevent sticking to your hands. Make edges thicker to hold toppings.

Bake crust 10 minutes on bottom oven rack.

Gluten-free pizza crust in pan after cooking for 10 minutes - ready to put on the toppings.

Pizza crust after cooking for 10 minutes.

Remove from oven. Spread crust with sauce and your choice of toppings.

Pizza crust with toppings added and Daiya cheese - ready to cook.

With toppings and Daiya cheese, ready to cook.

Bake on middle rack another 15 to 20 minutes, or until top is nicely browned.

Cooked pizza with Daiy cheese.

Cooked pizza with Daiya cheese.

Remove from oven, cool 5 minutes, then cut and serve immediately.

Two slices of gluten-free pizza with Daiya cheese on a plate.

Two slices of the pizza with Daiya cheese.

Pizza slice turned up so the bottom of the crust shows.

Here’s what the bottom of the crust looked like. I cooked 5 minutes longer after this photo.

The featured image at the top of the page is the pizza with the regular cheese. I put more toppings on it than the Daiya one.

Milo graphic

Milo says….

There is an evil BIRD stalking me! Maizy calls it “Grackle” and it sits on the windowsill looking in at me – and squawks! I barked at it ALL day today, but it wouldn’t go away. Then I stared at it for a long time. Yes, I’m sure it’s a DEVIL bird!

5 thoughts on “Gluten-free Pizza Crust

  1. Out of all the DF cheeses I like rice shreds the best. Daiya is too fatty and gross. The Go Veggie vegan shreds don’t melt. Rice shreds is by the galaxy brand. If I do use Daiya (say I am out at a restaurant, I have them put a tiny bit on my pizza).

Leave a Reply

