Finished cake on a plate - lemon slices clearly visible.

Gluten Free Lemon Upside Down Cake

When I found this recipe, I was really intrigued by using lemon slices with the peel still on them. How would they taste after baking? I had to find out!

The original recipe called for two cups of almond meal, so I was able to easily substitute one of those cups for sorghum flour.

The baked lemons turned out sweet and the cake was really tasty, but a tad heavy and crumbly. If I make this again I think I will use a little tapioca starch to lighten it up a bit.

I’m still not completely sold on using coconut oil instead of butter – I just like the flavor of butter more. But I will endeavor to persevere in giving up dairy as much as I can. I know my tummy will thank me for it.

Ingredients:

(Makes one 9-inch round cake.)

  • 4 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup raw sugar (or brown sugar)
  • 3 lemons
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/3 cup honey

INSTRUCTIONS:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Melt the coconut oil and coat a 9-inch round cake pan using about half of the coconut oil. Set the rest aside. Cover the bottom of the pan with the sugar.

Cut two lemons into 1/8 inch slices and lay out in rings on the bottom of the cake pan. It’s ok if they overlap in spots. (Sorry, I forgot to take a picture of this.)

In a small bowl, whisk the eggs, honey, remaining coconut oil and vanilla together. In a separate medium bowl, combine the almond meal, baking soda and salt. Mix the wet into the dry and add the zest of one lemon. Pour into the cake pan and spread evenly.

Bake for 25-30 minutes or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cake in pan - you can't see the lemon slices.

Lemon Upside Down Cake right out of oven.

Let cool in pan for 10 minutes and then flip the cake out of the pan.

Finished cake on a plate photographed from above - lemon slices clearly visible.

Finished cake from above.

Ready to eat!

Slice of lemon cake on plate.

Slice of Lemon Upside Down Cake.

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

Maizy? Where are you? Please come home RIGHT NOW! I miss your smell and I need to sit in your lap.

One thought on “Gluten Free Lemon Upside Down Cake

Leave a Reply

