Close-up of zucchini fritter in frying pan after flipping over.

Zucchini Fritters with Sorghum Flour

I like to grow zucchini in my garden every summer and it grows well here in west Texas. But I always have the problem using up all of that zucchini. When I found this recipe I was really excited about having something new to make with zucchini!

One medium zucchini on the counter next to a 1/4-cup measuring cup.

I used three zucchini about this size but I forgot to measure how many cups it made.

Of course, I altered the recipe by adding onions, garlic powder, and a little more flour. It was a little too runny (probably because I forgot to add the cheese!), so I had to use a slotted spoon to scoop it into the ¼-cup measuring cup. I added the extra rice flour because it tends to make fried foods a little crispier. Even without the cheese, these fritters were amazing. My friend Gregg said I could make these every weekend if I wanted to. We were thinking about trying them using eggplant instead of zucchini.

The cayenne pepper gives these fritters a bit of a kick. I actually reduced the black pepper amount to ¼ teaspoon. You could even leave out the pepper if you like and they would be just as good. These make a great side dish with some burgers or chicken cooked on the grill!

Ingredients

  • 2-3 medium zucchini, shredded (about 4 cups)
  • ½ cup onion, chopped
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • ½ cup sorghum flour
  • ¼ cup white rice flour
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon garlic powder
  • ½ shredded parmesan cheese
  • small amount of oil for frying (I used olive oil)

Directions

Shred the zucchini using a box grater, food processor or juicer. I used a food processor for the zucchini and chopped the onions by hand. If you use the grater or food processor, you will need to squeeze out all the moisture from the zucchini before you add the rest of the ingredients. I just patted it with a paper towel to get out the moisture, but it was still pretty juicy after I added the eggs and tomatoes. If you use a juicer, you can skip the moisture-draining step.

Chopped up zucchini and onions mixed together.

I chopped the zucchini in a food processor.

Sprinkle with the salt and toss well. Let sit for 10 minutes.

Add flour, egg and pepper. Stir to combine.

Flours and spices mixed up in a bowl.

Flours and spices.

An opened bag of Bob's Red Mill Sweet White Sorghum Flour

This is the sorghum flour I used.

Once mixed, gently fold in tomato and cheese.

All ingredients mixed up in a white bowl.

All ingredients mixed together – the tomatoes made it a little soupier than I thought it would be.

Heat a large skillet (or griddle if you’re looking for a less greasy option) with a small amount of oil on medium-low heat.

Pack a 1/4 cup measuring cup with the fritter mixture, pressing it down inside the cup. Turn the cup out onto the pan and flatten the zucchini until you get a patty.

Four zucchini fritters cooking in frying pan.

First batch of fritters cooking.

Close-up of zucchini fritter frying in the frying pan

Frying Fritter!

Cook on each side for 3-5 minutes or until nicely browned.

Four zucchini fritters cooking in frying pan flipped over with crispy side up.

Here’s what they looked like when I flipped them over.

This recipe made 14 fritters.

Zucchini fritters piled up on a plate.

This recipe made 14 fritters about the size of small pancakes.

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

The BEST thing happened today! Maizy dropped an egg on the floor and I ATE IT! She said I was her little helper. Being a helper TASTES GOOD!

 

One thought on “Zucchini Fritters with Sorghum Flour

Leave a Reply

