Close up of two peanut butter cookies on a dessert plate.

Peanut Butter Cookies

As I have mentioned here before, one of my favorite gluten-free cookbooks is Carol Fenster’s “Gluten-Free Quick & Easy”. In this book, she has several flour mixes that can be made up ahead of time and stored for later baking. This recipe uses her basic cookie mix.

The cookie mix starts with Carol’s basic gluten-free flour blend. This makes 4 cups.

  • 1½ cups sorghum flour
  • 1½ cups potato starch or cornstarch
  • 1 cup tapioca flour

To this 4 cups of flour mix add:

  • 1½ cups cane sugar
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1 teaspoon table salt

Now you have about 5½ cups of Carol’s cookie mix. You can make many kinds of cookies with it. Here is the recipe for the BEST gluten-free, melt-in-your-mouth peanut butter cookies I’ve ever eaten.

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup (½ stick) unsalted butter or buttery spread, at room temperature (but not melted)
  • ½ cup crunchy natural peanut butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups Carol’s Cookie Mix
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon cane sugar, for rolling cookies
Close-up of MaraNatha Organic Crunchy Peanut Butter jar

This is the kind of peanut butter I like because it has no added sugar.

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. (I used a non-stick baking sheet sprayed with olive oil cooking spray.)

Place the butter, peanut butter, egg and vanilla in a food processor and process until thoroughly blended. (I used a hand mixer.)

Peanut butter and wet ingredients mixed up in bowl next to flours mixed together in another bowl.

I mixed the wet ingredients and dry ingredients separately and then put them together.

Add the cookie mix and baking soda, and process until the mixture forms a ball. Break the ball into several chunks and process until the dough forms a ball again. (I used a spoon to mix it and then my hands to form the ball.)

Four large balls of peanut butter cookie dough in a large white bowl.

I made a double batch of dough.

Divide the dough into 16 pieces and shape in 1½ -inch balls. Dip each ball in sugar and place it, sugar side up, on the prepared baking sheet. Using a fork, make crisscross marks on the ball and flatten each to a ½-inch thickness.

Bake 15 to 18 minutes, or until edges are golden brown. Remove cookies from the oven and let cool on the baking sheet 10 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool completely.

Twelve cookies on baking sheet fresh out of the oven.

I made the cookies about twice as large as the recipe suggests. They spread out just a little bit.

I made a double batch of dough and made my cookies double-sized (about 2-inch balls of dough,) so I ended up with about 22 large cookies. If you like more nuts you can add ¼ cup of chopped peanuts.

Finished peanut butter cookies piled up on a large dinner plate.

I ended up with 22 large cookies.

Recipe from “Gluten-Free Quick & Easy” by Carol Fenster.

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

I heard the doorbell, so I ran and BARKED but when I looked out the window, no one was there. Maizy said it was someone called TV. I think they must be INVISIBLE!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. I was one of the fortunate to have one of these cookies before they were gone. They are AMAIZING! Reminded me of my mother’s peanut butter cookies from years ago when everything was made with wheat flour. Definitely a thumbs up recipe! Thank you Maizy.

Leave a Reply

