Piece of lemon almond cake on dessert plate.

Lemon Almond Cake

Lemon cake is always good in the summertime. I was intrigued by the use of olive oil in this recipe. I’ve never used olive oil in baking, so it was a fun experiment. It turned out amazing, although not as pretty as the photos from site where I got the recipe.

I don’t have a springform pan, so I used a regular 9” x 9” square cake pan. When I turned it out of the pan the cake broke in half. I think I didn’t let it cool long enough. I pushed it back together and it looked ok after glazing and putting on the almonds.

Finished cake on yellow platter with glaze and almonds.

Finished cake on platter with glaze and almonds.

I forgot to take photos until the very end, so there’s not one of the batter. It was very runny and I was concerned that it wouldn’t cook all the way. But it came out great – very moist – although it didn’t rise very much, if any.

Ingredients

For the cake:

  • 2/3 cups sorghum flour
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure almond extract
  • Grated zest of 1 medium lemon (approx. 2 teaspoons)
  • 1/2 cup orange juice

For the glaze:

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 3 tablespoons whole milk (I used almond milk)
  • A few drops of fresh lemon juice

For assembly:

1/2 cup sliced, blanched almonds, toasted and cooled

Instructions

For the cake:

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F and have the rack in the center. Grease and flour a 9-inch springform pan or cake pan. I used some white rice flour here, but you could use any light, gluten-free flour.

2. Whisk together the sorghum flour, almond flour, baking powder and salt until combined; set aside.

3. In separate bowl, whisk the eggs to break up the yolks.

4. Add the sugar and whisk for about 30 seconds.

5. Add the olive oil and whisk until the mixture is thoroughly mixed, about 45 seconds.

6. Add in the extracts and zest, followed by the orange juice and mix thoroughly.

7. Add the dry ingredients to the bowl and stir until combined. Continue stirring until you have a smooth, batter, about 30 more seconds. Batter will seem runny compared to many other gluten-free cakes.

8. Pour the batter into the cake pan and shake the pan a little to get out any bubbles.

9. Bake on center rack for 30-45 minutes or until the cake has come away from the sides of the pan. The cake should bounce back if you touch it lightly.

10. Remove from the oven and place on rack to cool – about 10 minutes. Remove the cake from the pan and place on a cake plate

For the glaze:

1. Melt the butter over medium heat and let it brown slightly. Put it aside to cool.

2. Sift the confectioner’s sugar into a bowl and stir in the milk until smooth and creamy.

3. Stir in the butter until mixed.

4. Add a few drops of lemon juice. Should be about 2 or 3 drops.

To assemble:

1. Spread the glaze onto the cake.

2. Spread the toasted almonds on top of the cake.

3. Ready to serve when glaze is set.

Piece of lemon almond cake on dessert plate.

Ready to eat!

 

Cake on yellow platter with slice cut out so you can see the inside of the cake.

The cake was very moist inside.

Adapted from Elle Kirschenbaum’s Torta di Mandorle e Limone.

Milo graphic

Milo says….

Maizy spilled some ALMONDS on the floor and I helped her clean them up. Mmmmm! I LOVE helping in the kitchen!

 

5 thoughts on “Lemon Almond Cake

  1. Hiya, this is Elle Kirschenbaum from Only Taste Matters where you adapted this recipe. First, thank you some much for adapting my recipe. I am so honored and touched that it inspired you. And honestly, a bit relieved that it came out good. 🙂

    Since you are new to blogging, I wanted to make you aware of some protocol so you don’t run into issues in the future. When you adapt a recipe, you are supposed to have a credit on the recipe with a link. For example: Adapted from Elle Kirschenbaum’s Torta di Mandorle e Limone. This text would link back to the original recipe.

    Also, while you cannot copyright an ingredient list, directions are copyrighted. So you need to rewrite them in your own words, not just cut and paste. This can help you avoid some potentially messy issues in the future.

    Sorry to leave this note as a comment but I could not find any contact info on your site. Let me know if you have any questions and welcome to the blogging community.

    Elle

    • Thanks for the help Elle. I’ve updated the post with your credit. Sorry if I’ve offended you or anyone on this blog. I’m pretty new to this. =)

      • Oh no worries. You were clearly trying to credit me with the links above. And it is very flattering that you liked my recipe. I hope I can inspire some future creations. I just felt I should warn you to reword your directions. Down the road when you get bigger you could be in for a whole mess of legal trouble. 🙂

      • Your instructions are very good so I’m leaving them in the comments in case it might help someone else. Thanks! (and the cake was really good!)

Leave a Reply

