Slice of cherry clafouti on dessert plate, view from above.

Gluten-Free Cherry Clafouti

Bing cherries are in season and on sale at the grocery store – what a great opportunity to try a cherry dessert I’ve never made!

Bing cherries in white colander

Ripe Bing cherries.

I had never heard of clafouti before I found it in Carol Fenster’s cookbook “Gluten-Free Quick & Easy”. She recommends using a blender to mix the batter, but I used a whisk and it worked just fine. I used a cake pan that was too big, so my clafouti turned out a little, well, little. It was only about a half-inch thick, but it tasted great – not too sweet, very cherry!

Ingredients:

  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup sugar with 2 tablespoons divided out
  • 1/2 cup Carol’s Flour Blend (see below)
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used almond milk)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups pitted Bing cherries, drained
  • 1 tablespoon sliced almonds, for topping (I think I used a little more)
  • 1 tablespoon powdered sugar, for garnish

Carol’s Gluten-Free Sorghum Flour Blend:

  • 1 ½ cups sorghum flour
  • 1 ½ cups potato starch (not potato flour) or cornstarch
  • 1 cup tapioca flour/starch

Whisk together thoroughly and store, tightly covered, in a dark, dry, cool place.

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9-inch square baking pan or round pie pan. I used a 9×12-inch pan and it was a bit too big. I used olive oil cooking spray in the bottom of the pan.

Combine the eggs, flour blend, milk, extracts, zest, salt and 2 tablespoons of the sugar. Blend until very smooth. (I forgot to take a photo of the batter – it was rather thin.)

Two-cup glass measuring cup full to the top of pitted Bing cherries

Two cups of pitted and sliced cherries – plus a little.

Place the cherries in the prepared pan and sprinkle with one tablespoon of the sugar. Pour the batter over the cherries. Sprinkle with almonds and remaining sugar.

Cooked cherri clafouti in baking pan

Cherri clafouti after cooking.

Bake 40 to 45 minutes or until cake is spongy. Let cool in pan for five minutes before serving. Serve warm sprinkled with powdered sugar.

 

Slice of cherry clafouti on dessert plate, view from side.

My cherry clafouti wasn’t very thick because my pan was too big. Still good, though, even without the powdered sugar!

 

Source: “Gluten-Free Quick & Easy” by Carol Fenster. For Carol’s blog, click Here.

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

Maizy took me to the VET yesterday. He pinched me and it made me growl just a little bit. BUT he gave me a TREAT, so it wasn’t THAT bad. I would do it again for another doggie sausage. Yummy!

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Cherry Clafouti

Leave a Reply

