Baked breadstick on small plate broken in half so you can see the inside.

Gluten-Free Italian Breadsticks

I made these breadsticks last weekend to go with an Italian chicken soup that I love to make in the summer when I have fresh eggplant, tomatoes and bell peppers from my garden.

The original recipe called for 1 1/3 cups of rice flour, so I split that into equal amounts of rice and sorghum flour. This makes a breadstick that is slightly heavier in texture, but more flavorful and nutritious, in my opinion.

I decided to sprinkle them with dried rosemary instead of parsley – I love the flavor of rosemary in bread!

These breadsticks are best served warm right out of the oven, but I found the leftover breadstick was still pretty good warmed up in the toaster oven two days later.

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons gluten-free dry active yeast
  • 2/3 cup brown rice flour
  • 2/3 cup sorghum flour
  • 1 cup tapioca starch
  • 2 teaspoons xanthan gum
  • 2 teaspoons Italian herb seasoning – (I used 1 tsp. basil, 1 tsp. oregano)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cane sugar
  • 1⅓ cup almond milk
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
  • 2-3 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon granulated garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary

Instructions

Preheat oven to 425°F.

Combine yeast and other dry ingredients, in a mixing bowl.

Brown mixing bowl with flour and other dry ingredients mixed up in it.

Dry ingredients mixed.

Add olive oil and vinegar to milk and stir together. Slowly add milk mixture to dry ingredients and stir until a thick dough is formed. I mixed this by hand and it worked ok, but you can use a mixer if you prefer. The dough will be very sticky.

Dough mixed up into a ball in brown bowl.

Wet ingredients added to make a thick dough.

Spray baking sheet with cooking spray (I use olive oil spray.)

Coat hands with small amount of olive oil and divide the dough up into 6 equal portions. Putting oil on your hands will make the sticky dough manageable. You can also use plastic bags over your hands or latex gloves, if it is easier and less messy.

Six breadsticks uncooked in baking pan.

I put a small amount of olive oil on my hands before making each breadstick to handle and form the dough more easily.

Form each portion into a long breadstick that is uniform from end to end, coating hands with small amount of olive oil between each one. They will bake more uniformly if they are of even size and proportion.

Place each formed breadstick on the greased baking sheet. I wasn’t ready to bake the breadsticks right away, so I let them sit covered with a towel for about 40 minutes and they puffed up a little. You can cook them right away, though, if you want to.

Breadsticks in baking pan, dough has risen slightly so they are a little larger.

The dough has puffed up a little after waiting about 40 minutes.

Combine the melted butter and garlic powder in a small bowl. Brush butter mixture on top of each breadstick.

Uncooked bread sticks in baking pan with butter on top.

I brushed melted butter on each breadstick.

Sprinkle bread sticks with rosemary.

Uncooked breadsticks in baking pan with rosemary sprinkled across tops.

I sprinkled crushed rosemary on top of the buttered dough.

Bake for 15 minutes or until nicely browned. Brush breadsticks with remaining butter mixture.

Baked breadsticks in baking pan glistening with butter.

After I took them out of the oven, I brushed them with the rest of the melted garlic butter.

One cooked breadstick on a small plate.

Each breadstick was about 6 – 7 inches long.

 

Adapted from Megan’s Italian Garlic Breadstick recipe at TheGlutenFreeVegan.com.

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

When I take Maizy for a walk, she always puts a leash on me first. I think she’s afraid she’ll get LOST if she gets away from me. I can ALWAYS smell the way back home, especially when it smells like breadsticks!

One thought on “Gluten-Free Italian Breadsticks

Leave a Reply

