Close up of baked dog treats on baking tray.

Gluten-free Peanut Butter Dog Snacks

I enjoy giving Milo snacks when he’s being a good dog – and he loves getting them! I have found gluten-free treats at the pet store, but they are about twice as expensive as ones made from wheat flour. So I’ve been giving him the regular snacks, making sure I wash my hands thoroughly afterwards to eliminate any traces of gluten.

I’ve seen several recipes for homemade dog treats on the web and decided to try making some with sorghum flour to see how Milo would like them.

I started with this recipe from dogtreatkitchen.com. Milo loves peanut butter, so I thought this would be a good first choice and easy to make.

Milo seemed to love the treats and could hardly wait for me to get my camera ready before trying one. (see nose shot below.)

I think I will try this recipe again using cheese instead of peanut butter.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sorghum flour
  • 1 cup rice flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter, chunky or smooth (I used chunky)
  • 1 1/4 cups hot water
  • Additional flour for rolling
  • One beaten egg to brush on top (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350° F. Lightly grease a cookie sheet (I used olive oil spray)

Combine dry ingredients.

Oats, sorghum flour and rice flour in a white bowl.

Oats, sorghum flour and rice flour.

Mix in the peanut butter and hot water. I had to add a little extra flour because the dough was very sticky.

Measuring cup full of peanut butter next to the peanut butter jar and doughnut cutter.

I used Smucker’s natural peanut butter because it doesn’t have any sugar added to it and not very much salt.

Knead the dough to thoroughly to combine ingredients. Add extra flour a little at a time if it is too sticky.

On a sheet of wax paper roll or pat out the dough into 1/4″ thickness and cut into shapes with cookie cutters or a knife. I sprinkled extra flour on top of the dough to be able to handle it better when placing the snacks on the cookie sheet.

Rolled out dough with doughnut cutter on top, some shapes already pressed out.

I used an old doughnut cutter to cut out shapes so I would have two sizes of snacks.

You can brush egg on top of the snacks to give them a hard, shiny finish, but it is not required. (I did this after taking the photos below.)

Dog snacks on a baking tray ready to cook.

The first ones I cut out were a little sticky and hard to manage, so I added more flour to the top of the dough.

More dog snacks on a tray - some are shaped like doughnuts and some are like doughnut holes.

More snacks cut out and ready to cook.

Bake for 40 minutes. Cool completely on a wire rack before serving.

Milo the dog licking the white mixing bowl.

Milo was very excited about getting to lick the mixing bowl.

Snacks can be stored in an air tight container at room temperature for one week. They will keep in the refrigerator for 3 weeks or in the freezer for up to 6 months.

 

Close up of Milo's nose and eye looking in the camera.

Milo wanted a snack so much he nearly knocked the camera out of my hand.

Close up of Milo's nose me handing him a snack.

Milo enjoying his very first homemade gluten-free peanut butter snack.

Adapted from peanut butter dog biscuit recipe at Dog Treat Kitchen.

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES! What more can I say? Maizy is my BEST FRIEND!

 

5 thoughts on “Gluten-free Peanut Butter Dog Snacks

Leave a Reply

