Closeup of two gluten-free chocolate chip cookies on a dessert plate.

Gluten-free Chocolate Chip Cookies

The original recipe for these cookies came from Bob’s Red Mill. I thought it was funny that it says “low carb” in the recipe description. Maybe that’s a relative term …

I followed the recipe pretty closely with just a few changes. I used Earth Balance buttery baking sticks instead of butter and margarine. I used a 10 oz bag of chocolate chips instead of 8 oz. (very chocolatey!) I also added coconut, as well as walnuts.

I had never used Earth Balance before and I found that the cookies seemed a bit greasy, especially while still warm. I didn’t use parchment paper but I think it would be a good idea to use it for these cookies. The cookies fell apart when they were still warm (always have to have a taste!) but they were less fragile after they cooled.

I took some to work and everyone who tried one gave me the thumbs up. Overall, I think this is a good recipe to keep around for gluten-free snacking.

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/4 cups Sorghum Flour
  • 3/4 cup Tapioca Flour
  • 1 tsp Xanthan Gum
  • 1 Tbsp Corn Starch
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 cup Earth Balance buttery sticks
  • 3/4 cup Sugar
  • 3/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 Egg (large)
  • 1 tsp Gluten Free Vanilla Extract
  • 8 oz Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips * (I used Enjoy Life Mini Chips)
  • 1/2 cup walnuts – optional
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut – optional

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Measure dry ingredients (1 – 5) and sift them together.

Let buttery sticks soften and bring egg to room temperature.

Cream buttery baking sticks and sugars.

Add egg and vanilla and mix for 1 minute.

Add dry ingredients in three parts, mixing between additions, until all ingredients are combined.

Add chocolate chips and fold them into dough. Fold in nuts and/or coconut, if using. Chill the dough for about 30 minutes.

 

Gluten-free chocolate chip cookie dough in a white mixing bowl.

The dough was sticky, but easier to handle after chilling in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.

 

Twelve blobs of cookie dough on baking sheet.

First batch of cookies ready to bake.

Drop dough by tablespoonfuls onto parchment-lined cookie sheets. Leave enough space between cookies to allow them to spread. Bake 8 – 10 minutes.

Baked chocolate chip cookies on baking sheet. Cookies are all touching.

My first batch of cookies ran together. Maybe I made them too big?

Baked chocolate chip cookies on baking sheet.

I made the cookies a little smaller for the second batch.

Gluten-free chocolate chip cookies piled up on a plate.

Finished chocolate chip cookies ready to eat!

Recipe adapted from Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-free Chocolate Chip Cookies. bobsredmill.com

 

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

I have a BIG stick I like to chew on in the back yard. Maizy laughs at me when I drag it around – it’s bigger than ME! Biting a stick is a good STRESS reliever!

One thought on “Gluten-free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

