Gluten-free pound cake slice on dessert plate.

Gluten Free Pound Cake – well done

This week’s recipe is another one from Bob’s Red Mill. This is the first pound cake I’ve ever made. I never realized they required so much mixing!

I set the timer to bake the cake for 60 minutes, as indicated in the instructions, but when it was almost time to take the cake out, I noticed it was starting to burn on the top. I was really disappointed after all that careful mixing.

I wondered if using brown rice flour instead of white rice flour might have caused it to cook faster. A friend of mine suggested that it might be an altitude issue. I live at 3600 feet. After I was diagnosed with celiac, I stopped baking anything for about 10 years (not that I ever baked that much.) I had completely forgotten about the adjustments that are required for baking at this altitude! I’ll be doing some research to see if this might be the cause of it cooking more quickly.

The inside of the cake was still pretty good – a tad dry, but still enjoyable. I think it would be worth the time to try and perfect this recipe.

Pound cake ingredients lined up on the counter top.

Pound cake ingredients.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sweet white rice flour (I used brown rice flour)
  • 1/2 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/4 cup corn starch
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 cup unsalted butter at room temperature (I used one stick of butter and one stick of Earth Balance)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Beat the butter until creamy and smooth.

Brown mixing bowl with creamed butter in bottom.

After letting the butter and Earth Balance stick soften, I creamed them together with my hand mixer.

Add the sugar and beat into the butter until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.

Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each one. Add the vanilla and blend until completely incorporated.

Brown mixing bowl with butter and sugar mix in bottom.

Butter and sugar thoroughly mixed together.

In a separate bowl, combine the flours, cornstarch, xanthan gum and baking powder and blend together with a whisk. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and blend until fully mixed.

Brown mixing bowl with pound cake batter in bottom.

Eggs added one by one and mixed well, then vanilla and dry ingredients mixed in thoroughly.

Spread into a greased 9-inch bread pan.

Thick gluten-free pound cake batter in loaf pan.

The batter is thick and doesn’t spread out by itself.

Gluten-free pound cake batter smoothed out in loaf pan.

I smoothed the batter out with a damp spoon.

Bake for 60 minutes at 350°F. I would recommend that you check it after 50 minutes.

Baked gluten-free pound cake in loaf pan, black on top.

I was disappointed when I discovered the pound cake was burned on the top.

Gluten-free pound cake upside down on plate showing a slightly burned bottom.

The bottom was just a little blackened, so I was more hopeful that all was not lost.

Cool for about 10 minutes. Remove cake from pan and cool completely.

Makes 30 servings.

Slice cut off of gluten-free pound cake, on a plate, showing nice yellow cake in the middle.

The pound cake was still moist and good on the inside.

 

Adapted from Gluten Free Pound Cake at bobsredmill.com.

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

Maizy! I smell something burning! I’ll take those black parts if you don’t want them. CRUNCHY SNACKS!

 

Leave a Reply

