Two slices of gluten-free molasses quick bread on a dessert plate.

Gluten-Free Molasses Quick Bread

This recipe is from Carol Fenster’s cookbook “100 Best Gluten-Free Recipes” that I received for Christmas (thanks, little brother!). I made this bread hoping it would be a quick alternative to yeast bread that would go well with soups or for snacking. I was very disappointed when I sliced off my first, warm slice and it broke in half! When I tasted it, the flavor was good – a hearty taste, mildly sweet – but it was very crumbly and dry. I usually have very good luck with Carol’s recipes, (I didn’t even make any changes to this recipe!) so I can only assume that I mis-measured the ingredients in some way.

I found this video on Carol’s website that has instructions on the proper way to measure flours. I thought it might be helpful to review, since measuring correctly is very important in helping gluten-free baked items turn out well.

I placed the loaf of bread in a plastic bag and stored it in the refrigerator over night. It has moistened up a little bit, so I think it will be edible and not a total loss.

If you try this recipe, please let me know how it turns out. Happy measuring!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup milk of choice (I used almond milk)
  • 1 Tbs. apple cider vinegar or fresh lemon juice
  • 2 cups Carol’s Sorghum Blend
  • 1/2 cup gluten-free yellow cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup potato starch
  • 1 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup molasses (not blackstrap)
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 tsp. sesame seeds, for sprinkling (optional)

Carol’s Sorghum Flour Blend:

  • 1 1/2 cups sorghum flour
  • 1 1/2 cups potato starch (not potato flour) or cornstarch
  • 1 cup tapioca flour/starch

Instructions:

Place a rack in the middle of the oven. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Grease a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan; set aside. In a small measuring cup, mix the milk and vinegar together and let stand for 5 minutes.

Almond milk and apple cider vinegar mixed together in a glass measuring cup.

Almond milk and apple cider vinegar mixed together.

In a large bowl, whisk together the sorghum blend, cornmeal, potato starch, xanthan gum, salt and baking soda. Beat in the milk-vinegar mixture, eggs, molasses and oil with an electric mixer (I used a hand mixer) until the batter is smooth.

Gluten-free molasses bread batter in a white mixing bowl.

The batter was thick and sticky.

Spoon the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top with a wet spatula. Sprinkle with sesame seeds, if desired. (I didn’t use these)

Gluten-free molasses bread batter in a loaf pan.

Batter in loaf pan, ready to bake.

Bake for 45 to 60 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean.

Baked loaf of gluten-free molasses quick bread.

The loaf rose nicely and was very pretty when it came out of the oven.

Cool the bread in the pan for 10 minutes. Remove the bread from the pan and cool for 15 more minutes. Slice and serve.

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

Santa brought me a chew rope, a ball and some SNACKS! If I can find him, I’m going to LICK his face! THANKS SANTA!

6 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Molasses Quick Bread

  1. Delicious! I have been looking for a great molasses bread like this. The only thing had to change was the cornmeal because I have a corn allergy. So I substituted whole millet to give it some crunch. The same amount in grams in cornmeal vs. millet. Thank-you for your hard work. It is much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

