Baked gluten-free strawberry cream cheese cobbler in white desset bowl.

Gluten-Free Strawberry Cream Cheese Cobbler

I love fresh strawberries and I’m always so happy when they arrive in the stores in the spring.

Four-cup measuring cup filled with slices strawberries.

Two quarts of sliced strawberries, plus a little.

When making gluten-free cobblers, I have to remember to hold a loose definition of “cobbler” in my mind. Without gluten it is never going to be like the cobbler my mom used to make. I just have to accept that gluten-free cobbler will be different, but can still be a tasty dessert choice.

Someone posted this recipe on Facebook and I thought I’d try making it gluten-free. I forgot that gluten-free crust doesn’t rise to the top like regular cobbler crust, so it ended up being more of a cake with strawberries and cream cheese on top. If I ever make this again, I will put in the fruit and cream cheese first, then pour the batter over it.

Even so, it turned out really good. I made two batches – one in a metal baking pan and one in a glass casserole dish. The one in the glass dish was a little more browned and crispy on the bottom and I liked it better. The other one was softer and more like a pudding, but was still quite tasty.

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup milk (I used almond milk)
  • 1 cup of Carol’s Sorghum Blend
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 Teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 quarts whole strawberries, washed and sliced
  • 4 oz cream cheese, cut into small pieces.

Instructions:

Preheat oven 350 degrees.

Melt butter and pour into 9 x 13 inch glass baking dish.

 

Melted butter poured into baking pan.

Melted butter poured into pan.

In a small bowl, mix together the egg, milk, flour blend, xanthan gum, sugar, baking powder, and salt.

Mixed batter in a brown mixing bowl with whisk.

I used a whisk to mix the ingredients for the batter.

Pour directly over the butter in the baking dish, but do not stir.

Gluten-free batter on top of melted butter in baking pan.

The batter is poured on top of the butter but not mixed with it.

Add the strawberries, arranging in a single layer as much as possible.

Strawberries placed on top of the batter in baking pan.

The strawberries are spread over the batter, then the cream cheese is dotted on top. ( I forgot to take a photo with the cream cheese).

Sprinkle cream cheese pieces over strawberries. Place in preheated oven and bake for 45 minutes or until top is golden brown and edges are bubbling.

Baked gluten-free strawberry cream cheese cobbler in metal baking pan.

The gluten-free “crust” bubbled up into the strawberries a little bit, but not like a regular cobbler.

 

Baked gluten-free strawberry cream cheese cobbler in glass baking dish.

Here’s the one I made in the glass dish. It browned a little bit more than the other one.

I’m not sure where the original recipe is from – you know how recipes travel around on Facebook – so whoever you are out there, thanks for the recipe idea!

Milo graphic

Milo says….

Sniff out opportunities!

 

 

Leave a Reply

