Four gluten free pancakes on a white plate with syrup and fresh blueberries.

Gluten Free Pancake Mix Review

This week I’m reviewing two gluten-free pancake mixes that contain sorghum flour. Both of them were very good, and they each had a unique flavor and appeal.

Hodgson Mills Gluten Free Pancake Mix is a whole grain, hearty mix with flax seeds.

Front of Hodgson Mill Gluten Free Pancake Mix box.

Hodgson Mill has a nice traditional design on their box with all the pertinent information.

Side of Hodgson Mill pancake mix box showing the ingredients.

Hodgson Mill has less sugar and additives in their mix and more whole grains.

I added fresh Texas blueberries to make these pancakes extra healthy and just plain yummy.

Washed blueberries on a paper towel.

Fresh Texas blueberries.

I used buttermilk and the batter came out very thick. I had to use a spoon to spread the batter out on the grill so they would be thin enough to cook completely inside. I think I would have liked them better if I had added a bit more milk to the thin out the batter.

Metal mixing bowl containing pancake batter with blueberries stirred into it.

The Hodgson Mill batter was a bit thick – I should have added a little more milk.

Four blutberry pancakes cooking on a griddle.

If the batter is thick, be sure to spread it out with a spoon on the griddle so the pancakes will not be to tall and cook well in the middle.

Stack of gluten free blueberry pancakes on a white plate.

Finished stack of Hodgson Mill Gluten Free blueberry pancakes.

 

The other day I found this new gluten-free pancake mix I had never seen before – Kerbey Lane Cafe Gingerbread Pancake Mix.

Front of box of Kerbey Lane Gingerbread Pancake Mix. It has cartoon image of a gingerbread man flipping pancakes.

Kerbey Lane Cafe has several locations in the Austin, TX area. I think they’re packaging has a fun design.

The package was really cute and when I turned it over to read the ingredients I was amazed to see sorghum flour was the first ingredient!

Side of Kerbey Lane pancake mix box showing ingredient list.

Sorghum flour is listed as the first ingredient.

They also had a fun slogan on the side:

The side of the Kerbey pancake mix box has the slogan Peace Through Pancakes and graphic of flying pancakes above their allergen information.

Peace Through Pancakes – I’m all for that! Love those flying pancakes.

So, I HAD to try this, right?

Kerbey Lane Cafe is actually a small restaurant chain in Austin, TX that also produces packaged products for retail. I found this mix at Drug Emporium. You can buy them online, too. They have regular and gluten-free mixes. The gluten-free ones are manufactured in a dedicated facility, according to the package, so that made me feel safe trying the product.

The Kerbey Lane mix has everything in it, so all you have to add are eggs and water.

White mixing bowl containing Kerbey gingerbread pancake batter.

Kerbey Lane Gingerbread pancake batter.

The pancakes looked and smelled like soft gingerbread cookies while they were cooking.

Four gingerbread pancakes cooking on a griddle.

The Kerbey Lane pancakes look like big fluffy gingerbread cookies when they are cooking.

And they tasted as good as they smelled!

Four gingerbread pancakes stacked on a plate.

Kerbey Lane Cafe gluten free gingerbread pancakes.

I added a small amount of butter and maple syrup, but these might also be good with fruit and whipped cream. The texture was just like I remember real pancakes being.

I would definitely recommend either one of these mixes to my celiac friends.

Remember: Peace Through Pancakes!

 

Milo graphic

Milo says….

Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, “What’s for breakfast?”

 

 

Leave a comment